• Join Home Gardening Forum

Venus Fly Trap

D

Destiny

Hello, I'm interested in growing Venus Fly Traps. I have lots of experience with gardening but I've never owned a carnivorous plant. I live in planting zone 7a, would it be best to keep them outside, inside or maybe both? I've done research online but I'm looking for advice from someone who had owned one. Any advice you'd like to share is greatly appreciated, thanks!

P

Perch

Outside is possible with boggy soil and mulching over for winter. Indoor is generally easier but they will need a cool period to allow at least 10 weeks of dormancy a year. That is the approach I take.

Attachments

• image.jpg
    image.jpg
    812.4 KB · Views: 5
D

Destiny

Are those your plants? They're beautiful!

Thanks! I was leaning towards indoors. Did you buy your plants online? I cant find any place local that sells them. If you did, can you recommend a retailer? Do they do well in a/c? Oklahoma can have pretty warm summers, maybe that would work for the cool dormancy period?

I

IcyBC

Yesterday, I noticed that my mom has venus fly trap plant by her kitchen sink. They are still very young looking, so I didn't bother to take a picture. Somehow, flies kept coming inside her house even though there are screen doors, and screen windows whenever the doors are open.

My nephew bought her this venus fly trap plant, and I will keep an eye on this to see the process. I will tell my mom's about @Perch 's advice with the dormant time though.

D

Destiny

Yesterday, I noticed that my mom has venus fly trap plant by her kitchen sink. They are still very young looking, so I didn't bother to take a picture. Somehow, flies kept coming inside her house even though there are screen doors, and screen windows whenever the doors are open.

My nephew bought her this venus fly trap plant, and I will keep an eye on this to see the process. I will tell my mom's about @Perch 's advice with the dormant time though.